I’ve been printing!

I have been having some fun with my printer and thought I’d show off some of the prints.

I saw this little robot on the Adafruit site about a year ago and thought it would be a fun project to do with my daughters. Here is the link: https://learn.adafruit.com/trinket-powered-rover. Well it turns out that the project was a little more involved than they wanted to invest their time in so I went ahead and finished it myself. A couple of things I did differently were, I didn’t have a Adafruit Trinket(http://www.adafruit.com/products/2000), but I did have a ATiny 85. I also just hardwired it to perfboard instead of using a mini breadboard. And last but not least I printed a battery tray to sit on the back of the robot. I bought the ultrasonic sensor off e-bay for 5 bucks, and used the link in the tutorial to buy the tank tread/ bracelets. I did however get the servos from Adafruit and hacked them to be full rotation. This was a fun project and in the end I got the “Yea that’s cool dad” from the girls. Here are a couple shots of it.

DSCN4141 DSCN4144 DSCN4145

The other fun thing I’ve printed was an enclosure for a clock kit I built . I bought the kit from a long time 43oh forum member RobG(https://www.tindie.com/products/RobG/msp430-nixie-clock-kit/). The kit was a breeze to assemble, all through hole components and I think designed very well. RobG offers a basic enclosure for a low cost but its kind of generic considering how cool the clock looks. To run the Nixie tubes it has 190 volts on the pcb. Being that I have daughters, and even thought they are 9 and 11, I didn’t want any wandering fingers to get zapped. That applies to everyone nobody wants to get shocked. So it gave me a good excuse to design and print an enclosure for the clock. This is what I came up with. I uploaded a .zip file to the 43oh site with the .stl files if anyone is interested in giving it a shot on their printer. (http://forum.43oh.com/topic/5915-msp430-nixie-clock/page-3#entry54347) Here are a few shots of it. I added the colon between the 2 middle digits, why? Because I could!

clock1 clock2 clock3 clock4 clock5

This entry was posted in 3d printing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

